Pet[s] Peeve

I have nothing against cats and dogs. I love them. I just choose not to have any pets, as I’m at a point in my life that I am free to do as I wish, and I don’t wish to have the responsibility of worrying about pets.

I am surrounded by dogs where I live, there seems to be no escaping it. Every neighbor of mine has at least 2 dogs. The majority of them, are kept out in their backyards. The dogs are never let into the house. Unfortunately, these dogs were also never properly trained. They bark at everything and anything that moves. Even when it’s nowhere near the property.

I can’t tell you how annoying it is to listen to barking 20 out of 24 hours. All kinds of barking. I can’t begin to tell you how wonderful it is to be awakened in the middle of night by barking from the german shepherd right next door to me. And all because some cat had the audacity to walk down the middle of the road.
Apparently, these are all supposed to be watchdogs. I just don’t understand then why they are not properly trained, so as not to drive the rest of the neighborhood bonkers.

I have to wonder how much good they do, because I react to them the same way I now react to car alarms…………………no worry. I figure it’s just a neighborhood cat across the street that the dog is barking at. Yep, real good watch dogs indeed.

We won’t even discuss the lovely neighbors with their indoor dogs. You know the ones, they faithfully walk their beloved pets twice a day, allowing the little darlings to use your front lawn (not their own thank you) as a toilet. And they have the nerve to get annoyed that when you catch them letting rover dump on your lawn when you complain to them. I’m sure you don’t want to hear about that. LOL
The cats are just as bad. There’s nothing like the lovely scent of cat urine wafting through your windows in the early morning, because the neighborhood cats think your backyard is their playground, litter box.

I try to be a good neighbor. I make sure I don’t do things that I feel would be an annoyance or nuisance, like blasting my radio with the windows all open. I don’t have wild parties or loud friends visiting.

Basically, I try to give my neighbors the peace, quiet and respect for their property as I would like. How sad others don’t believe in that practice of doing unto others as you would have done unto you.

~ by swfreedomlover on November 25, 2007.

One Response to “Pet[s] Peeve”

  1. Wow, another great post! I have the same problems in my neighborhood. I just don’t understand getting a dog and then leaving it out all the time.

    I also don’t understand not spaying and neutering cats! Just because they are cats doesn’t mean everyone likes them. I can understand why people get frustrated with bad pet owners.

    Love your pet? Then make sure the rest of us can love them too! Keep them at home and LOVE THEM!!!! I’d just as soon shoot the ones that bark all the time or the cats that consider my place theirs!

Leave a Reply

 
