A Good Reason to Question Even Doctors…

I hate colds. We all do. I never found any of the so-called cold medicines to do any good, other than mask the symptoms and prolong my cold. So I gave up using them decades ago and much to my pleasure, found I could be over a cold in less than 5 days.

So it was strange for me that when I had my son, one of the first things I’d do is give him some cold medicine the doctor recommended. I didn’t notice the cold symptoms really easing, and had to watch him through 10 days of feeling nasty each time. Now, it seems my son inherited earaches from me (which I thankfully outgrew by the time I was 10), as he them a couple of times a year also, but I noticed his seemed to only occur immediately following a cold.

I decided to try something with his next cold, and much to my (then) husband’s dismay and horror, I didn’t give my son any cold medicine. He reacted to this the same way I did. Instead of having a bad cold for almost 8 days, he was over the worst of it in 3 days, and he was himself again by day 5. Lo and behold! NO earache after it either. All I would use would be vicks when he really was stuffy, and a vaporizer at night. While his father was surprised and glad, he was still mortified that I would not give his son any cold medicine after that. Fortunately, my son is a very bright boy and even at his young age of 4, realized that he preferred mom’s way over dad’s and wasn’t shy about telling dad that mom was right. LOL By the time he was six, we were down to just 1 cold per year instead of 3.

So this comes as no surprise to me at all. I’m just glad I listened to my own instincts instead of going with the trend.

Cold medicine scam finally exposed after decades of harming children

(NewsTarget) Another example of outright quackery by pharmaceutical companies has finally gathered enough steam to achieve mainstream news coverage: Cold medicines are useless, say pediatricians who petitioned the FDA to ban the marketing of such products to children. Last month, an FDA advisory panel…

Read more

Finally, someone else feels as I do…

“As long as the child is generally healthy, the best thing to do is let the virus run its course, and generally they’ll get better as quick or quicker than when they take these medicines,” said Dr. Steven J. Czinn, Chairman of Pediatrics at the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

Read more

~ by swfreedomlover on November 26, 2007.

5 Responses to “A Good Reason to Question Even Doctors…”

  1. Your best defense against illness is your body’s own immune system. Give it what it needs and nothing that it doesn’t need and you’ll be amazed at what it’s capable of.

  2. Thanks for the comment. . .and of course you may add the link.

  3. I’ve been taking Vitamin C and Glucosamine and Chondrotin mixture called Emergen C to try and prevent colds and keep my joints healthy. I’m not sure of the effect but I never was one to take medicine after getting ill, only try to prevent the illness to begin with.

    I’m back playing a lot of tennis this year to stay in good shape and eating reasonably healthy (at least when I am not travelling).

  4. Actually, I talk myself into being healthy. I just tell myself, especially when others are getting ill around me, that I will NOT catch this bug. I have to admit that between that and a good strong immune system, I manage to succeed 98% of the time. There’s always something that will sneak up on me, but for the most part, I am pretty much able to not get knocked on my butt by something.

  5. I don’t think doctor’s practice medicine anymore. Seems to me that they take the drug companies word for things, then push that pill just to get all the perks attached to prescribing that pill. Now, I’m not accusing the doctors of doing this on purpose, just that they don’t seem to be as “medicine” oriented. I’d want to know what was in the medicine I was prescribing, but I’ve asked doctor’s about stuff like “What’s in it?” and they have no clue. That to me is scary. They don’t know what is in it, what the long term side effects are, etc. Where is the practice of medicine in that???

    As any parent, I hate seeing my child ill. But to have “Big Pharma” scam us like this should be grounds for us to sue them. But of course, some government agency will “investigate” and that will be the last we will hear of it. Money buys all and smooths out any block set into the path of Big Pharma.

Leave a Reply

 
