What is this new right to never be offended? Part I

I’ve noticed a trend over the past decade or so that seems to have become more prevalent over the past 5+ years. There seems to be a new attitude out there that people believe they have some inalienable right to never be offended.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m all for civility, good manners, tact and being polite. What I don’t get, is why The First Amendment

Amendment I Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

of our Bill of Rights is being tested, squashed, twisted and slowly deteriorated.

OK, so Political Correctness is NOT a law that Congress passed. So my question is then why “We the People” have allowed our right to free speech to be controlled?

Better yet, what exactly IS Political Correctness? In doing a search I found a few interesting things about this. Unfortunately, it basically tells me that my thinking Political Correctness is in fact a form of censorship isn’t so far off base.

From Wikipedia:

Political correctness (adjectivally politically correct, both forms commonly abbreviated to PC) is a term used to describe language, ideas, policies, or behaviour seen as seeking to minimize offence to racial, cultural, or other identity groups. Conversely, the term politically incorrect is used to refer to language or ideas that may cause offense or that are unconstrained by orthodoxy.The term “political correctness” is derived from Marxist-Leninist vocabulary, and was used to describe the appropriate “party line” [5], commonly referred to as the “correct line” [6]Those people who opposed (or were seen as opposing) the “correct line” were often punished.[7]. A similar term has been used in communist countries, such as China.[2]

I’ve considered it a form of censorship, if truth be told. For centuries the world did just fine using good manners, common sense, tact, and just plain old being civil to each other. WHAT happened to change all that? When did we suddenly become so thin skinned that we take insult at every little thing, even when it’s not an insult?

You think I look fat in this dress? OK, tell me, maybe not in those words, but I’d rather know I failed to look in the mirror today than walk around thinking I’m all that when I look like a stuffed butterball turkey instead. I may not like it, but hey, I can respect the honesty in telling me, more than the politically correct “oh you look so good today!” So I also see all this PC stuff as justification for lying (another trait I abhor).

To be continued…

~ by swfreedomlover on December 2, 2007.

One Response to “What is this new right to never be offended? Part I”

  1. Damn but I love your blogg posts! This very subject has been much on my mind of late. So much of your personal opinions are the same as mine. Thank you for expressing them so very well. I thoroughly enjoy this blogg!

    As for what the subject is, I whole-heartedly agree with both the subject, feelings and sentiments. Where has common sense gone? What happened to being taught by your parents HOW to say a thing?? I fail to see WHY congress needs to put a “law” into effect for everything!

    Again, Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
