Is This Big Brother Moving In?

I’m a private person, generally speaking. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll speak my mind when something moves me too, but as a rule, my personal life is private. When the Patriot Act came about after 9/11/2001 I was not thrilled. I recognized where it could lead.

There are those who say if you have nothing to hide, you have nothing to worry about. Well, I have nothing to hide, and while I’m not worried about this, it really ticks me off big time.

I can’t stand having people standing and reading over my shoulder. I can’t stand people trying to listen to my private conversations (hey, sometimes we all like a little dirty talk – admit it or not LOL). The idea of someone trying to talk to me while I’m using the bathroom is doubly annoying to me.

This is not an issue of having something to hide, for me this is an issue of PRIVACY. Privacy is something we are all entitled to, and for me, that includes privacy from the prying eyes of the government into my every move.

The whole idea of being watched just creeps me out. I mean, who likes using the bathroom with an audience?! That is what this “Big Brother” business feels like to me.

Big Brother U.S. Government Subpoenaed Amazon.com to Obtain Book Purchasing Records of Customers(NewsTarget) Newly unsealed court records have revealed that the U.S. government issued a subpoena to Amazon.com seeking to obtain the identities of customers purchasing books through the Amazon marketplace. The snooping attempt was blocked by U.S. Magistrate Judge Stephen Crocker who wrote in a recently-unsealed ruling, “Well-founded or not, rumors of an Orwellian federal criminal investigation into the reading habits of Amazon’s customers could frighten countless potential customers into canceling planned online book purchases.”

Is the U.S. government trying to profile the psychology of its citizens by secretly data mining their book purchasing habits? Since 9/11 and the passage of the ill-designed Patriot Act (which, if anything, is traitorous, not patriotic), it seems that the U.S. government is aggressively expanding its powers to search records, tap phones and surveil electronic messages, all in an effort to conduct Gestapo-like profiling operations on its own citizens. It is now a well-known fact, for example, that domestic phone calls and e-mails are now tracked and recorded by the U.S. government, then mined for “dangerous” words which are linked back to those callers.

“The subpoena is troubling because it permits the government to peek into the reading habits of specific individuals without their knowledge or permission,” Judge Crocker wrote in his ruling. “It is an unsettling and un-American scenario to envision federal agents nosing through the reading lists of law-abiding citizens while hunting for evidence against somebody else.”

~ by swfreedomlover on December 7, 2007.

2 Responses to “Is This Big Brother Moving In?”

  1. OMG! Don’t even get me started here! This is something I have been telling people over and over and yet it seems there is an ocean of sheep out there. They do not see the danger our own government posses to US its citizens. I swear they doctor the water now-a-days! HOW can a people, know the world over for their freedoms, suddenly accept what is going on? I do NOT understand!

  2. I’ve joked for years about there being something in the water, these days I find myself not laughing as much over it. Especially when I read stories of cities (San Francisco I think it was) that is looking to BAN bottled water. The reason being to cut down on recycling costs. But the whole idea of forcing people to drink tap water, really gives me a creepy feeling. Purify it all you want, tap water still tastes nasty.

    I’ve never trusted the government, and these days they just keep confirming how right I was not to.

Leave a Reply

 
