Average Joe on the street reporting…

Here is an interesting article from David Hazinski, a former NBC correspondent, is an associate professor of telecommunications and head of broadcast news at the University of Georgia’s Grady College of Journalism.

It ranges from the CNN YouTube debates to political blogs to cellphone video of that sniper who opened fire at an Omaha Mall. These are all examples of so called “citizen journalism,” the hot new extension of the news business where the audience becomes the reporter.Supporters of “citizen journalism” argue it provides independent, accurate, reliable information that the traditional media don’t provide. While it has its place, the reality is it really isn’t journalism at all, and it opens up information flow to the strong probability of fraud and abuse. The news industry should find some way to monitor and regulate this new trend.

Monitor and regulate what us common citizens are allowed to share with others? Does this sound a little like censorship to anyone else?

~snip~journalism — at least in the United States — has never adopted uniform self-regulating standards. There are commonly accepted ethical principles — two source confirmation of controversial information or the balanced reporting of both sides of a story, for example, but adhering to the principles is voluntary.

Is he serious? When is the last time you heard any real ‘balanced reporting of both sides of a story’ on any major network news or publication? All I ever hear these days is what they want me to hear. My new heros these days are Jack Cafferty and Lou Dobbs on CNN as they appear to be the ONLY two who are not afraid to speak their mind and rebuff those in power. So while there are some commonly accepted ethics in journalism, adhering to them is still voluntary. But he wants US silenced? That’s one of those things that makes you stop and go “Hmmmmmmmm”, isn’t it?

There is no licensing, testing, mandatory education or boards of review. Most other professions do a poor job of self-regulation, but at least they have mechanisms to regulate themselves. Journalists do not.

Is he advocating for licensing, testing, more education and review boards for journalists now? Or is it just us common citizens he wants silenced?

So without any real standards, anyone has a right to declare himself or herself a journalist. Major media outlets also encourage it. Citizen journalism allows them to involve audiences, and it is a free source of information and video. But it is also ripe for abuse.

I haven’t noticed anyone who blogs calling themselves, or even thinking that they are “journalists”. I know I don’t. I just come here to speak my mind, voice my opinion, and share my outrage, amazement, frustration with the things I see happening today. Last time I checked, freedom of speech was still part of the Constitution with no condition that only “journalists” could share information they found publically. What is ripe for abuse? Since when did sharing our thoughts or news items we found, with others become such an issue that someone who belonged to the “free press” suddenly wants to try to quiet us?

While the end of the article talks about being careful in using “citizens” for news stories, etc. I think this man is really opening another can of worms he will regret in the end.

I already wonder just how “free” the press really is these days, given the UNbalanced reporting I see and read constantly. And I know I’m not the only one who wonders about that also. And this man wants to regulate journalists even more?

~ by swfreedomlover on December 17, 2007.

2 Responses to “Average Joe on the street reporting…”

  1. This is an excellent case of clean up your own backyard before yelling about someone else’s. He should worry more about getting the journalists back on track before whining about how we don’t listen to them anymore. John Stewart is my hero, though I tend to think he can be a little soft at times. LOL

  2. This hits the nail on the head for me! Fox News is one of THE WORST supposed journalistic abusers and he has the NERVE to want to censor US? Give me a break! When I want news I go to CommonDreams.org because I can’t read anything, watch anything anywhere else and trust it! Seems to me if the kettle is going to call the pot black he should look to his colleagues first!

Leave a Reply

 
