Cloned Meat & Milk and NO Labeling Required

Given all the food scares of the past year, I find NO comfort in the FDA declaring cloned meat and milk to be safe. Safe to the point that NO labeling will be required. NO labeling required? Are they serious?

And with NO long term studies, and I’ll bet NO taste tests too, I’m supposed to trust the FDA to tell me that I’ll find no difference? I already find a difference with meats as most animals are fed chemical hormones these days, as well as chemically treated feed. And yes, the meat I have always loved no longer tastes the same, though I’ve tried not to admit that.

This is the agency that wants everything labeled. This from a government who says all foods have to be properly labeled so the consumer can make an informed choice. Hell, even organic growers have regulations regarding labeling for the consumer, but meat and milk from cloned animals won’t require it?

This same government though, has no problem with eventually allowing cloned food products on the shelves with NO indication to the consumer that it IS from a cloned animal. That leaves the farmers/growers of meat and milk from real, UNcloned animals having to label their products as such.

Is it just me, or do you also see a problem with this? It pains me to say this, but I may just end up vegan………and that will be torture for me. Then again, maybe I’ll just turn my backyard into a garden and grow as much of my own food as I can. Just so that I’ll know exactly what I’m eating.

A Reuters report on Yahoo News:

FDA approves cloned meat, milk: newspaper

Tue Jan 15, 12:34 AM ET

WASHINGTON (Reuters) – A U.S. Food and Drug Administration report finds that meat and milk from cloned animals is, for the most part, safe to eat, the Washington Post reported on Tuesday.

The newspaper said it had obtained a copy of a long-awaited, 968-page “final risk assessment,” from the agency ahead of release.

It said FDA experts measured vitamins A, C, B1, B2, B6 and B12 as well as niacin, pantothenic acid, calcium, iron, phosphorous, zinc, fatty acids, cholesterol, fat, protein, amino acids and lactose in meat and milk from 600 cloned animals, including cattle and pigs.

Levels all looked normal.

The agency also found no health effects in animals fed meat and milk from cloned animals for more than three months.
~snip~
“One of the amazing things about this is that at a time when we have a readily acknowledged crisis in our food safety system, the FDA is spending its resources and energy and political capital on releasing a safety assessment for something that no one but a handful of companies wants,” Mendelson told the newspaper.

Full Story here:

~ by swfreedomlover on January 16, 2008.

3 Responses to “Cloned Meat & Milk and NO Labeling Required”

  1. If the FDA says it’s safe, it’s pretty reliable it ISN’T. I’ll look for labels from REAL farmers and buy REAL meat…

  2. My sentiments exactly!! I’ll have to also ask for a big fat raise to pay extra for my food too.

  3. The sad part about growing your own food is you will have to watch where you buy your seed. You can’t just go to Walmart and get it, cuz that is GM seed, count on it! So make sure you know a reputable seed seller also if you want food that is clean of all GM modifications such as tomatoes with a salmon gene inserted into them so they won’t freeze as easily, etc. Keep in mind, they say it is for our own good, and the FDA doesn’t make these seed growers label their products either. I might also note that these same seed manufacturers have designed these seeds so that they will not reproduce. That means that once they fruit, you cannot use those seeds to replant and get crops from, you have to buy NEW seed. Beware!

Leave a Reply

 
