There Ought To Be A Law!!

How many times have you said that to yourself? I know I have, many times in my life. It’s only the last few years however, that I’ve actually stopped and considered where such a “law” might lead. It’s only recently that I’ve understood that by taking away someone else’s right to something, I am inviting another to do the same to me. I can’t scream about liberty and freedom while surpressing the liberty and freedom of others to do things I personally dislike.

On the surface, some laws make sense, seat belt laws, helmet laws, child abuse laws. But, have you ever stopped to consider some of these laws? Seriously. Seat belt laws make sense IF you are involved in an accident. But technically, seat belt laws are an infringement on your right to choose for yourself whether or not you want to “buckle up”. Granted, we are at risk for getting in an accident when out on the road, but given the numbers of cars on the road, what exactly are the odds that YOU will be in an accident every time you drive?

My biggest fear with my wearing a seat belt is that I will get in an accident and need to exit the car in a big fat hurry and the damned belt will be jammed. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve actually seen that picture in my mind’s eye. I actually feel safer UNbuckled, than I do with the seat belt buckled. It’s bad enough I’d have to worry about the car door and/or window, but if the window smashes out and my belt is jammed, I’m basically screwed. Personally, I’d rather take my chances without the belt. But that’s just me. However, the seat belt law has removed that option from me.

Most laws passed remove our freedom to choose. I resent that. And so should you.

Junkfood Science takes a nice in-depth look at “There Ought To Be A Law”. She gives us a view of looking beyond the immediate to the road ahead and where it might lead. And personally, I think she’s dead-on right with the direction she sees because I see it also.

“There Ought to be a Law?”

Did anyone catch CBS Evening News tonight? Katie Couric reported on RJ’s Law, a bill being introduced in this legislative session of the California State Assembly by John J. Benoit. It was drafted by a high school student, R.J. Field, who won a writing contest called “There Ought to be a Law.”

The bill will require all poor women receiving welfare benefits to be tested for narcotics. Those who test positive will be required to undergo treatment or lose their public assistance, including healthcare. The rationale behind the bill is to dispense state healthcare dollars prudently and to protect children from health problems due to women who do drugs while pregnant. Of course, such a mandate will ensure that these women will avoid any prenatal care at all to the greater detriment of their babies. The young student who wrote it suffers from cerebral palsy after being born prematurely to a drug addicted mother.

While it is easy to understand the well-meaning intentions of a 16-year old boy, if one steps back to think of the proverbial slippery slope, what other unhealthy behaviors might a politician find potentially harmful to children or costly to the state and similarly choose to regulate by force…?

Read the FULL STORY HERE.

~ by swfreedomlover on February 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
