2008 Elections: Holding Our Breath

My friend and I have often spoken together about how it appears that Bush would be wanting to remain in office forever. It’s a scary thought for us as neither of us ever voted for him OR his father. We’ve often said to each other that we wouldn’t be surprised if some horrific catastrophe happened during the election year that would stop the elections. I used to wonder if we were being a tad paranoid.

Apparently, we are not the only ones thinking this way. Others have also noticed that Bush seems to have an itchy trigger finger and seems to be straining at the bit to declare war on Iran.

Common Dreams has openly voiced these very same concerns.

Published on Thursday, March 6, 2008 by CommonDreams.org
The Election That Might Not Happen
by Betsy Hartmann

It’s springtime in American politics. It’s only early March, but there’s a giddy, hopeful feeling to this election season, a sense that new leadership is blossoming. We could have a Democrat in the White House next year. But winter isn’t over yet and we need to balance our hope with a little fear. In 2000 Bush and Cheney stole the election in Florida. In 2004 they played dirty tricks in Ohio. In 2008 could they go one step further — and suspend the election altogether?

The necessary architecture may already be in place. On May 4 last year, the White House issued the National Security and Homeland Security Presidential Directive, key parts of which remain classified and hence shrouded from public view. The directive outlines procedures to respond to a “catastrophic emergency,” defined broadly as “any incident, regardless of location, that results in extraordinary levels of mass casualties, damage, or disruption severely affecting the U.S. population, infrastructure, environment, economy, or government functions.” Of course previous administrations also had emergency plans. But the Bush directive transfers power from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to the White House, where the Assistant to the President for Homeland Security and Counterterrorism is assigned the job of “National Continuity Coordinator”.

Read the FULL STORY HERE.

Don’t know about you, but I plan on doing some serious praying and holding of my breath. We can deal with any new administration when it happens. Just so long as it DOES happen. And while we’re at it, stocking up on non-perishables, planting some of our own foods isn’t such a bad idea either.

~ by swfreedomlover on March 11, 2008.

3 Responses to “2008 Elections: Holding Our Breath”

  1. I remember when that directive was bandied about. I said the same thing myself then. However, if I mention it to anyone I’m being silly. Y’know, that could NEVER happen. Of course, noone seems to realize if it will NEVER happen, then what’s the need of the directive??

  2. I hear you Jalestra. These days I’m feeling somewhat of what I used to call “looney”. Unfortunately the past 8 years have ground this into me.

    Hey, IF it can be thought of for a book, movie, etc………whose to say it can’t happen?

    We used to say they’d never ban smoking…………look where we are today with that!

    They also used to say we’d never put a man on the moon……and guess what…………the rest is history.

  3. I’ll admit, I do carry it too far on occasion. I have such mistrust of our government I’ve come pretty close to loony,but jeez…if I’m not right now I think this makes it perfectly obvious I’ll be right later!

Leave a Reply

 
