Living in Fear – The Terrorists Are the Winners

I sometimes wonder if it isn’t the terrorists who are really winning. Every time there is some so-called “terror plot” uncovered and averted, it is the millions of ordinary innocent citizens who are then forced to being treated like criminals and always being inconvenienced.

First I saw this story and almost spewed my coffee all over my keyboard at the outrageousness of these measures:

Even duty free hit in hand luggage ban

Thursday, 10 August 2006

Hand luggage has been banned on UK flights, including liquids and even spectacle cases. Baby milk is only allowed if parents taste it in front of security staff and people flying from the UK to the US will not be able to take duty free perfume or alcohol.

A Department of Transport spokesman said: “With immediate effect, the following arrangements apply to all passengers starting their journey at a UK airport and to those transferring between flights at a UK airport.”

All cabin baggage must be processed as hold baggage and carried in the hold of passenger aircraft departing UK airports.

Passengers may take through the airport security search point, in a single (ideally transparent) plastic carrier bag, only the following items. Nothing may be carried in pockets:

* Pocket size wallets and pocket size purses plus contents (for example money, credit cards, identity cards etc – not handbags);

* Travel documents essential for the journey (for example passports and travel tickets);

* Prescription medicines and medical items sufficient and essential for the flight (eg, diabetic kit), except in liquid form unless verified as authentic;

* Spectacles and sunglasses, without cases;

* Contact lens holders, without bottles of solution;

* For those travelling with an infant: baby food, milk (the contents of each bottle must be tasted by the accompanying passenger) and sanitary items sufficient and essential for the flight (nappies, wipes, creams and nappy disposal bags);

Read the FULL STORY here.

I couldn’t believe what I was reading here, then I clicked on the “related stories” link and discovered there as a reason for this pathetic level of inconvenience to millions.

Red alert after police ‘foil air terror plot’

* ‘Liquid chemical devices in passenger bags’ suspected
* US flights from UK were targeted, say Washington sources
* 21 arrests: main players ‘accounted for’ says Reid
* MI5 raises the threat level to critical – attack imminent

Thursday, 10 August 2006

A terrorist plot to blow up aircraft in mid-flight has been thwarted, Scotland Yard said. Hand luggage has been banned at UK airports and MI5 has raised the threat level to “critical”.

A statement on the MI5 website said: “This means that an attack is expected imminently and indicates an extremely high level of threat to the UK.”

Sources say that liquid chemical devices were suspected. It is believed that the aim was to smuggle the devices on board the aircraft in hand luggage and that the attacks would have been targeted at flights from the UK to the USA. In Washington, counter-terrorism officials said United, American, Continental airlines were targeted.

Senior sources in London said that the terrorists were believed to have been planning to blow up as many as nine aircraft. The sources could not give an accurate estimate about when exactly the simultaneous attacks were planned for, but said there were “operational reasons” which meant action was required last night.

Read the FULL STORY here.

Now while I can and do fully understand the severity of this, and see now that the first story makes sense, does anyone believe for one minute that these new regulations on air travel will be lifted anytime soon?

It’s good this latest plot was discovered and stopped; but on the other hand, it is just fed into a governments’ excuse to strictly control, if not restrict, the movement of its citizens. It uses fear to keep the control and restrictions in place.

I don’t mean seem to cold and hard here, but every time we do stuff like this I imagine the terrorists hi-fiving each other, chalking up another notch on their list, that they are bringing “free societies” more and more to their knees.

By living in fear, trying to eliminate every single risk possible, we weaken ourselves as a society.

I don’t want to see millions or any innocents killed…………..but I also find it repulsive that just because of a few sickos the rest of us have to pay the price indefinitely.

~ by swfreedomlover on October 21, 2008.

4 Responses to “Living in Fear – The Terrorists Are the Winners”

  1. Just scary how we all get treated, as innocents. I flew down to FLorida for my sister’s wedding the first weekend this month. I havent flown in almost 10 years, back when I was in the military. Even though, intellectually I knew about it, going through the security checkpoint, the sight of shoes on the conveyor, and mine still on ym feet left me momentarily mentally blanked as it dawned on me that I had to take my shoes off as a matter of policy. Knowing my feet, I’m surprised a few people in line near me didn’t pass out, nevermind my shoes being confiscated for some strange chemical smell!!!

  2. I hear you Mike! I have my mother coming out to visit me next month and I told her to ship her clothing out to me the week before, because of the baggage charges now. I’ll remind her to wear easy to slip on shoes…………..I mean at 78 years old she’s sure to be target for extra scrutiny these days…………*rolling my eyes*

  3. I don’t mean seem to cold and hard here, but every time we do stuff like this I imagine the terrorists hi-fiving each other, chalking up another notch on their list, that they are bringing “free societies” more and more to their knees.

    Why would it sound cold and hard? They ARE. Their purpose in blowing up aircraft is not to do damage to us via the aircraft themselves. Let us face it: nine aircraft and the passengers theron do not a significant dent in our national product make. What does put a dent in things is when we redirect hundreds of thousands of government workers specifically to interfere with the day to day business of hundreds of millions of honest (or at least productive, non-destructive) citizens.

    The answer to terrorism is not to fear death, it is to love life. It is not to cringe, but to stride boldly forward.

  4. Well said Kennyc!! I couldn’t agree with you more.

    Unfortunately the masses don’t agree with us as they are brainwashed into believing that even one death hurts us all.

    While life may be precious, we must also be realistic and put things into proper context.

    You said very nicely exactly what I was thinking. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
