THIS is the New Christmas Spirit?

What does it say when people who claim to be civilized, many claiming to be good people, trample a man to death just for a sale for a gift to give to someone?

We’re not talking about starving people here fighting to get some food. Which would have been tragic enough. We’re talking about people who probably walk around claiming to be good, God-fearing (I never understood fearing something you claimed was perfect and good) religious people, trampling someone to death just for a good sale on “stuff”.

Stuff that is NOT necessary to maintain life either, just “stuff”.

I call that downright disgusting.

Sought: Wal-Mart shoppers who trampled NY worker

By COLLEEN LONG
Associated Press Writer

NEW YORK (AP) — Police are reviewing surveillance videos of a post-Thanksgiving shopper stampede that trampled a suburban Wal-Mart worker to death, but they acknowledge it may be difficult to bring criminal charges.

Nassau County police and Wal-Mart Stores Inc. said no new information was available Saturday on the employee’s brutal death, which rattled shoppers even as they flocked to the Valley Stream store a day later.

“It felt a little freakish,” customer Ellie Berhun, 48, told the Daily News. “Some man lost his life because a VCR was on sale? Please. It’s just too sad for words.”

Police said the temporary worker, Jdimytai Damour, was mowed down as about 2,000 bargain-hunters surged into the store at Friday’s 5 a.m. opening, leaving a metal portion of the door frame crumpled like an accordion.

Other workers were knocked to the ground as they tried to rescue Damour, and customers simply stepped over him and kept shopping even as the store announced it was closing because of the death, police and witnesses said.

At least four other people, including a woman eight months pregnant, were taken to hospitals for observation or treatment for minor injuries. The store, about 20 miles east of Manhattan, closed for several hours but reopened Friday afternoon.

Read the FULL STORY here.

I know times are tough right now. I know the economy sucks and we are all struggling, but really………………does that warrant such uncivilized, greedy, pathetic behavior?

I blame the stores and media just as much for this uncalled for violence as those greedy shoppers. The media constantly barraging us with economic news and the woes of the stores. The stores advertising their best sales, advertising how they are opening extra early.

I saw on the news last week that people were already parking themselves outside of a Best Buy store the night before Thanksgiving, so they’d be the first in line to enter the store Friday morning.

We all love a bargain, I’m not arguing against that, but really……….I just consider this downright GREED.

I used to love the Christmas season……….I found myself always feeling love, joy and peace the most at that time of the year, even when I had no money to buy gifts. Over the years those feelings have diminished no matter how hard I try to feel them and I miss that feeling the most.

Christmas was never really a religious holiday for me, even though I was raised Roman Catholic. To me it was always about a feeling of peace and joy that had nothing to do with any one religion.

Presents are nice, I just never understood why they were so necessary and important.

I have grown to almost dislike Christmas for the greed I witness that seems to take over everyone. Christmas is no longer a season of joy and love, it is now a commercial venture that businesses use to measure their profitability for the year.

This tragic death is one huge black mark on civilization if you ask me. We are not a civilized people………..we are greedy little children that don’t care one bit about our fellow man. How can anyone ever need some trinket bad enough to participate in such madness?

I wonder how many of those people involved in the trampling death of this man call themselves good Christians? How can they live with being part of this incident? How are they going to feel giving a gift to someone that they were buying while this man lay dying at the door? How would the recipient of that gift feel if they knew the circumstances the gift was bought under?

I’m thankful I have no money to buy gifts. I’m thankful that I’m not contributing to this kind of madness. I’m thankful that I don’t have wonder IF I was in any way even partly responsible for another’s death.

Happy Holidays to all of you who stayed home on Black Friday, like me. For those of you who did participate in all this madness, I hope you can live with yourselves; or at least ask yourself if it was worth someone’s death.

~ by swfreedomlover on November 30, 2008.

10 Responses to “THIS is the New Christmas Spirit?”

  1. After one time of shopping on Black Friday, many years ago, I said never again. I now do my Christmas shopping throughout the year, so that by the time Thanksgiving has rolled around, it’s done and everything is wrapped. I don’t like the crowds, their rudeness, or their greed, and I refuse to deal with it. Halloween was just barely over when they started putting out the Christmas decorations and hyping the up-coming sales. Sorry, I shopped sales all through the year, I don’t need your Black Friday deals that are limited to the first 10 or 20 people stupid enough to stand in line for mega-hours on the off chance that they’ll be lucky enough to score some item or other that they don’t really need but have been brain-washed into believing they just HAVE to have.

  2. I’ve never shopped on Black Friday, simply because I have always hated crowds and would not deliberately put myself into such a frenzy of shopping. I just never needed anything for myself or anyone else THAT bad.

  3. See, this is exactly why most guys don’t like shopping at all. Becuase Black Friday isn’t the only time of year when stampedes break out in malls, box stores or whereever else you can go to buy your stuff. At any given moment, the right kind of information can leak out that drives people batty. The herd gets spooked, and then people get stampeded to death. Horrible.

  4. I just hate crowds AND shopping, so I do as little of it as I can!!!

  5. This isn’t about just the economy, here, every year some kind of riot or something happens. I haven’t been Black Friday shopping in jeez, I don’t know how long. Well, that’s a lie, I went last week without ever removing my pajamas. I did it at midnight and was in bed by 1 am, the children’s presents are bought and will be delivered. In this tiny house there is no shopping ahead of time. The only places to put things are visible lol The thing is not the media, it’s the people. We are supposedly adults, are we in control of ourselves or aren’t we? I don’t think the answer is to ban Black Friday, as the day itself is not the issue here. The answer is to arrest the people involved. If you can’t get the right one, arrest them all. Perhaps at the least, a short jail term would provide them time to reflect on their own stupidity.

    “The mob is man VOLUNTARILY descending to the nature of the beast.”–Ralph Waldo Emerson, emphasis mine

  6. Well said, Jalestra! I realize it is not the day itself. I also realize that the bulk (95%) of the blame here IS ON THE PEOPLE! According to the news last night, the police ARE able to make out faces from the video tapes. I seriously doubt though that they will ever be able to pursue an actual murder charge against anyone, but at the very least perhaps they can level “disorderly conduct” or “inciting a riot” charge against all those they can identify as having mowed the poor man down and those who just kept trampling over him to get to their “sale”. Heavy fines and serious community service work if not actual jail time should definitely be in order.

  7. Oh, I know you realize that. I think my biggest problem was I was catching up on my reading of other blogs and knew I could rant to you. It crossed my mind after posting I DO have my own blog and should take it there. LOL I’m glad to see the cops have been able to make out faces and it shouldn’t be too hard to figure out all those involved. They are all the ones still running right where, and after, the man went down. Perhaps if some folks were punished over this then others would learn to keep their heads.

    It just irritates me how many folks are going “well, that’s what happens when you get corporations involved”, thus relieving the people involved of all responsibility. “Well, it’s basic psychology, mob mentality”. The thing is, if these people don’t pay, they don’t try to use self control. Secure that their behavior is excusable because of “mob mentality”.

  8. Not sure if you know this, but Queens’ councilman James Gennaro has proposed a bill mandating better security measures for stores having doorbuster sales at odd hours. I’m glad that at least they’re trying to work on a real problem, and not donuts or baseball bats. I am angry that Walmart did not have better security procedures in place. (I have moonlighted at a Best Buy with good ones, as well as seen good procedures in place at Target.) And of course, I am angry at *anyone* who can’t at least take a human being’s death as a reason to stop shopping!

    This is one reason why I’m not completely Libertarian anymore. I don’t have enough faith in people.

  9. I see the “babyed teenager effect” on the people. When folks were treated like adults and held responsible for their behavior and decisions, this type of thing rarely, if ever, happened. Increasingly adults are being told where to go and what to do and how to do it.

    It’s like this, you treat your teenager like a child, bailing them out, treating them like little children, excusing them from any and all bad or unacceptable behavior then they go to college and end up in credit debt, make irresponsible choices, get in trouble, etc. Why are we surprised when a sheltered teenager screws up, they are only doing what they are taught? (Not that I get any less angry, I just want to strangle their parents).

    Now we do that to adults. We take more and more decisions from them, more and more responsibilities, and then they turn into sheep. I’m not the least bit surprised. When you treat a person like a child, they feel free to act like one and let mommy and daddy take care of everything. If our politicians were any smarter, I’d think they were doing this on purpose.

  10. I call this the “anti-Christmas”:
    http://scotterb.wordpress.com/2008/11/30/the-anti-christmas/

Leave a Reply

 
