It’s Been A While…

I know I’ve been really bad about posting lately.  I have no excuse other than I allowed myself to crash after my lay-off from work.  I’ve just not been able to really focus on anything, let alone reading/researching/writing.

Today I stepped about a mile outside of my own personal comfort zone and did something I’ve never done before.  I participated in a small protest here in Phoenix……sign holding and all!  Trust me, for ME THIS was a huge step as I absolutely abhor doing anything that draws attention to myself.

I did attend the Tea Party Rally here in Phoenix on April 15th, but that was a little different, at least in my eyes it was.

Anyway, today’s protest was to “End the Fed” (as in the Federal Reserve Bank).  It turns out that right here in Phoenix we have the Fed’s cash processing center.  And before anyone tries to accuse me of being anti-government, understand that the Federal Reserve is NOT a government agency….it IS a PRIVATE bank!!!

So we spent the glorious morning we had here with our signs exercising our first amendment right to peacefully assemble/protest.  OK, so I didn’t do any yelling or anything, BUT this was still a major step for me.

In my life I never dreamed I’d turn rebel or activist, let alone wait until my 56th year to do so, and yet this seems to be the path I’m being pulled to.

I just want to see us go back to the basics of our Constitution.  I just want government reduced in size to what our founding fathers meant it to be.  I don’t need the government telling me how to live my life or pursue my happiness.

I’ll get to blogging shortly.  Think I’ve lazed around enough for now, and now I need to pick myself up and start focusing again.

~ by swfreedomlover on April 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “It’s Been A While…”

  1. I doubt government can be what the founders intended, because they intended it for a different world, with a different economy, less developed technologies, and a much smaller country. I’m also not sure practically what would replace the federal reserve if it disappeared. Would we really trust politicians to better control the money supply (that hasn’t worked out in other places). That said, I think the better solution would be a confederation rather than a federation, with power devolving to states. Most of the problems, from centralization to an intrusive foreign policy are common when states get strong, large and prosperous. Are we following the same trajectory as Rome (Republic to Empire (even with democratic trappings) to decline?

  2. So much for public introversion, eh? Glad to see you took time out to post something for us readers. We had a meeting just last week centered around our wonderment as to your whereabouts. We were going to waterboard a canadian to try to get the information out of him, but all the canadians we found claimed to be aussies.

Leave a comment